SunPower went bankrupt. Who honors your warranty, loan, and monitoring now?
Every claim below is sourced. Last checked against primary records: 2026-08-17
As of: August 7, 2026. SunPower Corporation's bankruptcy is over, but the question of who stands behind your system has kept changing since, and one of the answers changed as recently as May 2026. This page is re-checked against the court docket and against each company's own current published statements, and every claim below carries a source line.
This is not legal advice. This page reports what public court records and company statements say, in plain language. It does not interpret your individual contract. If you are deciding whether to pursue a claim or have a dispute about your system, consult a bankruptcy or consumer attorney. Many offer free consultations.
The single most useful thing on this page: a SunPower system has three separate warranties from three separate companies, and the bankruptcy hit them very differently. Most homeowners are told "your warranty is gone," which is wrong, or "the manufacturers still cover you," which is now only partly right. Skip to the three layers.
What happened
SunPower Corp. (NASDAQ: SPWR) filed voluntary Chapter 11 petitions on August 5, 2024, in the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the District of Delaware. The case is No. 24-11649 (CTG), jointly administered with nine affiliates. The claims agent is Epiq Corporate Restructuring.
Source (VERIFIED, primary): SunPower Corp. Form 8-K, Exhibit 99.1 press release, August 5, 2024, sec.gov; case caption and jointly-administered status per Notice of Claims Bar Date, U.S. Bankr. D. Del., Case No. 24-11649 (CTG), document on the Epiq case site.
- The ten debtor entities include SunPower Corporation; SunPower Corporation, Systems; SunPower Capital, LLC; SunPower Capital Services, LLC; SunPower HoldCo, LLC; SunPower North America, LLC; Blue Raven Solar, LLC; Blue Raven Solar Holdings, LLC; BRS Field Ops, LLC; and Falcon Acquisition HoldCo, Inc. If your paperwork names any of these, the company that signed it is a debtor in this case. Source (VERIFIED, primary): debtor list, footnote 1 of the Notice of Claims Bar Date (Epiq case site), listing each debtor and the last four digits of its tax ID.
- What SunPower said it was doing: selling the Blue Raven Solar business, the New Homes business, and its non-installing Dealer network to Complete Solaria, Inc. for $45 million in cash, then, in the company's own words, "liquidate any remaining assets and undergo an orderly and efficient winddown of its operations." Source (VERIFIED, primary): SunPower 8-K Exhibit 99.1, 8/5/2024 (sec.gov).
- The deadline to file a claim has long passed. The court entered a Bar Date Order on September 23, 2024 (Docket No. 602) setting a General Bar Date of October 18, 2024 at 11:59 p.m. EDT for all entities holding prepetition claims against the debtors. Source (VERIFIED, primary): Notice of Claims Bar Date, quoting Dkt. 602 and referencing the full Bar Date Notice at Dkt. 613, retrieved from the Epiq case docket 8/7/2026.
- The Chapter 11 plan was a liquidating plan; it went effective on November 14, 2024, and a creditor trust was established to pursue and distribute remaining recoveries. Reported estimates were that unsecured creditors, the class a customer warranty claim would fall into, recover zero. Source (SECONDARY): Davis Polk case summary (counsel to the debtors) for the effective date and the monetization plan; Pachulski Stang Ziehl & Jones case page (counsel to the creditors' committee, now to the creditor trust). The Notice of Effective Date is docketed at D.I. 1058 — we have not retrieved and read that document, so the effective date is reported here as secondary, not primary.
Scale of the affected group: the debtors described SunPower as having equipped more than 500,000 U.S. homes over 30+ years.
Source (SECONDARY): PSZJ case page, quoting the debtors' own description.
What it means for your warranty (the three layers)
This is where almost every other page gets it wrong. You do not have "a SunPower warranty." You have up to three, from three different companies:
| Layer | Who promised it | Status today |
|---|---|---|
| 1. Installer workmanship + SunPower's own system/production warranty | SunPower Corporation (or its dealer) | Gone. No buyer assumed it; the company liquidated. |
| 2. Solar panels | Maxeon Solar Technologies (manufacturer of SunPower-branded panels) | Narrow, conditional, and now itself uncertain. See below. |
| 3. Microinverters / inverters | Enphase, or SolarBridge, or another inverter maker | Enphase: honored. SolarBridge: not covered by anyone. |
Layer 1: the installer workmanship warranty and SunPower's own warranties: no one took these over
The company that bought the SunPower name explicitly did not buy your warranty. Complete Solaria (which renamed itself SunPower Inc. and operates us.sunpower.com today) states on its own current warranty page:
"Our purchase of select SunPower Corporation assets did not include taking any interest in customer PPAs, leases, or in any solar systems, batteries, or other equipment that was installed prior to the acquisition date, September 30, 2024."
Source (VERIFIED, primary): us.sunpower.com/warranty and us.sunpower.com/warranty-and-service-coverage, both retrieved 8/7/2026 and bearing a page date of August 6, 2026; same language repeated on the company's acquisition FAQ.
What this means concretely:
- System energized BEFORE September 30, 2024 → the current SunPower company is not responsible for it. It routes you elsewhere: "For customers who purchased their products by paying in cash or through a loan, please contact your lender. For customers with leases or PPAs, reach out to your financier or SunStrong Management at (833) 514-1858."
- System energized AFTER September 30, 2024, or installed by Blue Raven / Complete Solar → the current company states "the warranties provided at the time of signing remain valid" and "the warranties in your installation agreement are still valid." Source (VERIFIED, primary): us.sunpower.com/warranty, page dated 8/6/2026.
- The workmanship and production-guarantee obligations therefore stayed with the liquidating estate. As a practical matter they became unsecured claims for money, subject to the October 18, 2024 bar date that has passed, in a case where unsecured creditors were projected to recover nothing. Source (VERIFIED, primary) for the bar date; (SECONDARY) for the zero-recovery projection — see the plan sources above.
Say it plainly: for a pre-September-2024 system, there is no company obligated to fix a bad installation. That is the honest answer, and it is why the next two layers matter so much.
Layer 2: your panels, via Maxeon, with two conditions and one new problem
SunPower-branded panels were manufactured by Maxeon Solar Technologies, which was spun out of SunPower in 2020 and is a separate company. Maxeon's own current warranty page states:
Maxeon provides "limited warranty coverage for legacy SunPower panels installed before August 5, 2024, and self-registered with Maxeon prior to December 31, 2024," because "SunPower Corporation declared bankruptcy in 2024."
Source (VERIFIED, primary): maxeon.com/warranty, retrieved 8/7/2026. The page carries no "last updated" date.
⚠️ This is narrower than what is commonly reported, in three ways, and our own earlier summary was one of the things that was too loose.
- There was a registration deadline: December 31, 2024. Maxeon's stated coverage applies to legacy panels self-registered by that date. What happens to an owner who did not register by then is not stated anywhere on Maxeon's public pages. We are not going to guess. Not yet determined. ask Maxeon directly and get the answer in writing (support line listed on Maxeon's FAQ page: 1-833-490-0398).
- You cannot file a claim yourself. Maxeon: "If you are a system owner experiencing an issue with your solar system, please contact a local solar installer to conduct a site visit and submit a warranty claim on your behalf." For an orphaned homeowner whose installer no longer exists, this is the real obstacle, because you need to find an independent solar service company willing to do the site visit and file the claim, and to pay for that visit, because the panel warranty covers the part, not the labor. Source (VERIFIED, primary): maxeon.com/warranty-claim, retrieved 8/7/2026.
- If you have SunPower AC modules, the attached microinverter is NOT part of the panel warranty. Maxeon: "Maxeon produced many solar panels for SunPower where microinverters were attached. These are commonly referred to as AC panels. The microinverters attached to these panels were produced by another manufacturer and are not included in the warranty being issued by Maxeon." Source (VERIFIED, primary): Maxeon warranty FAQs, retrieved 8/7/2026.
🔴 New since our earlier record: Maxeon itself is now in a court-supervised insolvency process. Maxeon's own website carries this notice:
"The affairs, business and property of Maxeon Solar Technologies, Ltd. (Under Judicial Management) are being managed by the Judicial Managers who were appointed by the High Court of Singapore on 29 May 2026."
Source (VERIFIED, primary): notice on maxeon.com, retrieved 8/7/2026; the site footer likewise reads "Copyright © 2026 Maxeon Solar Technologies, Ltd., (under Judicial Management)." Judicial management is Singapore's court-supervised restructuring process under the Insolvency, Restructuring and Dissolution Act 2018 — broadly comparable in function to a U.S. Chapter 11.
What that means for your panel warranty: not yet determined. Maxeon's warranty pages were still live and still described legacy SunPower coverage on August 7, 2026, and neither the warranty page nor the claim page says anything about whether judicial management changes claim handling. We are not going to tell you your panel warranty is safe, and we are not going to tell you it is void. What we can tell you is that the entity behind it is under court supervision, and that is a materially different situation from what was true a year ago. Anyone telling you flatly that "Maxeon still honors SunPower panel warranties" is quoting a page that predates 29 May 2026 and has not checked.
Source (VERIFIED, primary) for both facts: the Maxeon warranty pages and the Maxeon judicial-management notice, retrieved the same day, 8/7/2026.
Practical implication if you are considering a claim: do it now rather than later, get the correspondence in writing, and do not assume the process will look the same in six months.
Layer 3: your inverters, which depends entirely on which inverter you have
If you have Enphase IQ7 microinverters (SunPower AC modules installed roughly 2018 onward): covered, and covered for 25 years.
Enphase publishes a dedicated warranty document for this exact situation, Limited Warranty for Enphase Microinverters and A/C Cables in SunPower ACMs, Doc #: USPRCA-SPWR Micro-2024, effective date on or after August 9, 2018. Key terms we read directly:
- Warrantor: Enphase Energy, Inc., not SunPower. The warranty is "valid only for the Covered Product SKUs that were sold to the Covered Owner by SunPower or by a SunPower authorized dealer." The dealer's disappearance does not void it.
- Limited Warranty Period: 25 years from the Activation Date, for the listed IQ7 microinverter SKUs (IQ7A/IQ7AS/IQ7HS/IQ7PD/IQ7X/IQ7XS ACM variants) and the listed A/C cables.
- Registration is not a condition: the registration form states, "Failure to complete and return this Product Registration Form does not diminish your warranty rights." (Contrast Maxeon's panel coverage, which does turn on registration.)
- Labor is mostly excluded, with one narrow exception: the warranty "does not include any cost of labor" for un-installing or re-installing, except a truck-roll offset in the first 5 years after activation, capped at $125 per truck roll and $25 per microinverter, and only where the number of failed units exceeds 10% of the units at your address, with an Enphase-issued RMA beforehand.
- Claims must be submitted within 90 days of discovering the defect, via Enphase's RMA procedure.
- ⚠️ If you sell the house: a new owner keeps coverage only by submitting a "Change of Ownership Form" and paying a transfer fee within 30 days of the transfer, then registering within 45 days. Miss it and the transferee may lose coverage.
Source (VERIFIED, primary): the warranty PDF itself, retrieved and read 8/7/2026 from enphase.com — Sections 1, 3, 5, 6(d), 7(a), and the Covered Products Schedule (page 7) and Product Registration Form (page 8).
Enphase also states publicly that it will honor these: "Enphase will honor the terms of the Enphase limited warranty for Enphase products used in Legacy SunPower system."
Source (VERIFIED, primary): enphase.com/homeowners/support/sunpower, retrieved 8/7/2026. Corroborating announcement (SECONDARY): Enphase press release, April 1, 2025 — "We're fully committed to honoring warranties for our microinverters used in SunPower systems."
🔴 If you have SolarBridge microinverters (older SunPower AC modules, roughly pre-2018): no one covers them. Enphase acquired SolarBridge's business but is explicit:
"While SolarBridge inverters are not covered by the Enphase warranty, we have programs specifically designed with special offers for SunPower customers needing to upgrade their SolarBridge inverters."
And Maxeon excludes them from the panel warranty as well (the AC-module carve-out quoted above). So a SolarBridge AC-module owner has no inverter warranty from the installer (liquidated), the panel maker (excluded), or the microinverter maker (not covered). That is a genuine dead end, and the only offers on the table are paid upgrades.
Source (VERIFIED, primary): enphase.com/homeowners/support/sunpower, retrieved 8/7/2026.
Enphase is also explicit about what it is not: "Enphase has not been a service provider to SunPower or its customers and has not provided maintenance services for SunPower system." Enphase covers its hardware. It does not cover your roof, your racking, your wiring, or the quality of the installation.
Source (VERIFIED, primary): same page.
Other inverter brands. The current SunPower company's coverage page also names Fronius (IG Plus A and SunPower SPR models) and Fimer (Aurora PVI models) among inverters found in legacy systems. For those, the manufacturer's own warranty terms govern, and you contact them directly.
Source (VERIFIED, primary): us.sunpower.com/warranty-and-service-coverage, page dated 8/6/2026.
What it means for your loan, lease, or PPA, and this is where "who owns your system" decides everything
Short version: if you leased, someone is still responsible for your system. If you paid cash, no one is. If you took a loan, you still owe the money but no one owes you service.
Lease and PPA customers: you are the best-covered group
SunStrong, the asset manager that took over the legacy SunPower portfolio, states on its own site that it serves "residential solar customers who have a lease, loan or power purchase agreement (PPA)" including customers transferred from SunPower, and that "SunStrong took over account management for 110,000 former SunPower customers." The current SunPower company routes lease/PPA customers to SunStrong Management at (833) 514-1858.
Source (VERIFIED, primary): SunStrong Management Help Center and customer service inquiry page, retrieved 8/7/2026; routing per us.sunpower.com/warranty, page dated 8/6/2026.
Under a lease or PPA you generally do not own the equipment, because a capital partner does, and that owner has its own reason to keep the system producing. This is the structural reason lease/PPA customers came through the bankruptcy in better shape than owners did.
Cash customers: you are the most orphaned group, and SunStrong says so directly
If you bought your system outright, SunStrong states it "does not manage your solar system and therefore is unlikely to be able to assist," and that it does not provide maintenance services for customers who own their systems outright.
Source (VERIFIED, primary): SunStrong customer service inquiry page, retrieved 8/7/2026.
Combined with Layer 1 above, that is the full picture for a cash buyer: the installer is liquidated, the successor disclaims you, and the portfolio manager is not responsible for you. Your remaining coverage is Layers 2 and 3, the manufacturers, plus whatever you can arrange with an independent service company.
Loan customers: keep paying, and be clear about what your lender does and does not owe you
Keep making your payments. Your loan is a separate legal obligation to a finance company, not to SunPower, and the bankruptcy does not cancel it. Stopping payment damages your credit and applies no pressure to a company that no longer exists. The current SunPower company's instruction for legacy cash/loan customers is simply: "contact your lender."
Source (VERIFIED, primary): us.sunpower.com/warranty-and-resources, page dated 8/6/2026.
But understand the asymmetry. Your lender collects; it did not promise to maintain your system. Legacy SunPower loans and leases were acquired in volume by SunStrong Capital Holdings, and loan servicing may have moved to a third-party servicer, so check the servicer named on your current statement rather than assuming it is whoever sold you the system.
Source (SECONDARY) for the loan-portfolio acquisition and third-party servicing: trade and rating-agency coverage of SunStrong's securitizations; we have not retrieved a primary SunStrong statement specific to loan servicing. (VERIFIED, primary) that SunStrong serves loan customers as well as lease/PPA: SunStrong customer service inquiry page.
If two of your debtor-named documents disagree, for example your loan says "SunPower Capital, LLC" but your bill comes from someone else, that is normal after a portfolio sale, and the current statement is the one that tells you where to pay.
What it means for your monitoring
The mySunPower app is gone. It was replaced, and by whom depends on your contract.
- SunStrong Connect replaced mySunPower. SunStrong: "The SunStrong Connect App, formerly mySunPower, is designed for users to monitor solar production and home energy consumption," and the old web portal "is no longer supported." SunStrong states the app is "currently only accessible by former SunPower customers." Source (VERIFIED, primary): SunStrong Management Help Center, retrieved 8/7/2026.
- Enphase offers a migration path for any legacy SunPower system, whether or not it runs on Enphase hardware: "Whether your Legacy SunPower system is powered by Enphase or not, it can be modified to communicate with the Enphase Monitoring Platform and the Enphase App." Enphase also declines to guarantee the old platform's lifespan: "We cannot comment on how long the SunPower monitoring platform and mySunPower app support will continue." Source (VERIFIED, primary): enphase.com/homeowners/support/sunpower, retrieved 8/7/2026. Note that a migration may involve buying an Enphase monitoring kit — that is a purchase, not a warranty remedy.
- Whether SunStrong Connect access will remain open to cash owners indefinitely is not stated anywhere we could find. Not yet determined. Given that SunStrong says it does not manage outright-owned systems, a cash owner should treat continued app access as a courtesy rather than an entitlement, and set up direct monitoring with the inverter manufacturer now rather than after it stops working.
What to do now
- Work out which of the three layers you actually have. Find the panel model and the inverter model. They are on the equipment, on your install paperwork, and usually in your monitoring app. The inverter brand is the single most consequential fact: Enphase IQ7 means 25 years of real coverage; SolarBridge means none.
- Find your paperwork before you call anyone. Installation contract, warranty documents, production guarantee, loan/lease agreement, serial numbers, service records. Every company below will ask for proof of purchase or serial numbers.
- Panels: contact Maxeon and get the answer in writing. Ask two specific questions: (a) is my system within your legacy SunPower coverage, and does the December 31, 2024 registration deadline exclude me? (b) does the judicial management of Maxeon Solar Technologies, Ltd. affect claim handling? Do this sooner rather than later. Maxeon requires a solar installer to conduct the site visit and submit the claim on your behalf, so you will need a servicer either way.
- Inverters: go straight to Enphase if you have Enphase hardware. Legacy SunPower support line (510) 945-6752, email spwrquery@enphaseenergy.com, or general customer support (877) 797-4743. Claims must be filed within 90 days of discovering the defect, so do not sit on a fault.
- Set up manufacturer-direct monitoring so your visibility into the system does not depend on a platform someone else may retire.
- Keep paying your loan or lease. Confirm the servicer on your current statement.
- If you have a lease or PPA, call SunStrong Management at (833) 514-1858. You have a counterparty, so use it.
- If you sell the house, handle the warranty transfer on time. The Enphase microinverter warranty requires a Change of Ownership Form and transfer fee within 30 days of transfer. This is easy to miss and expensive to lose.
- The bankruptcy claims deadline has passed (October 18, 2024). If you believe you have an unusual reason a late claim should be allowed, that is a question for a bankruptcy attorney (late-claim motions have been filed in this case), but understand that unsecured creditors were projected to recover nothing, so the realistic value of that path is low.
- If you need repairs now, you need an independent solar service company, one that will take on an orphaned system, and that can perform the site visit Maxeon requires for a panel claim. (Our per-state directory of independent servicers who accept orphaned systems is in progress.)
Status-watch items (what we're tracking, updated as things move)
| Item | Why it matters to you | Where it stands (8/7/2026) |
|---|---|---|
| Maxeon Solar Technologies' judicial management (High Court of Singapore, 29 May 2026) | Maxeon is the only company standing behind your panels | Under judicial management; warranty pages still live and unchanged. Effect on legacy SunPower panel claims: not yet determined |
| Whether Maxeon honors legacy owners who missed the 12/31/2024 registration | Decides whether a large share of legacy owners have panel coverage at all | Not addressed on any Maxeon public page we could find. Not yet determined |
| SunPower Inc. (the successor, formerly Complete Solaria) going-concern status | Affects post-9/30/2024 customers, not legacy ones, but a second failure would reset this page | Auditor raised substantial doubt about going concern in its 2026 annual filing (SECONDARY: SEC-filing coverage; primary 10-K not retrieved) |
| SunPower Corporation creditor trust distributions | The only path to money on a workmanship claim, and it is a narrow one | Trust established post-confirmation; unsecured recovery projected at zero (SECONDARY) |
| Long-term SunStrong Connect access for cash owners | Whether outright owners keep monitoring | Not stated. Not yet determined |
| Reported state-AG interest in the SunPower/Sunnova portfolio transfers | Could create a complaint route for stranded customers | Reported only by low-quality aggregators; we could not verify it against any AG office or court record, so we do not assert it. Under check |
Source quality key
- VERIFIED (primary): taken directly from either (a) a court document from the official claims-agent docket (Epiq Corporate Restructuring, SunPower Corporation, D. Del. Case No. 24-11649 (CTG)), cited by docket number, or (b) the current published statement of the company that would actually owe the obligation (the successor, the manufacturer, or the servicer), retrieved and read on the date shown. Company pages change; each is dated here for that reason.
- SECONDARY: trade press, legal press, rating-agency or law-firm summaries. Used for context and for corporate-process dates we did not retrieve ourselves. Never the sole source for a warranty claim.
Why this page leans on company statements more than on docket documents, unlike our bankruptcy pages for live cases: the SunPower Chapter 11 closed its main phase in November 2024. The live question is no longer what will the court do but who is standing behind each layer today, and that answer has changed since the case ended, most recently in May 2026. A page sourced only to the 2024 docket would be accurate about 2024 and wrong about now.
Page maintained from the public docket and from primary company statements. SunPower Corporation, et al., U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Delaware, Case No. 24-11649 (CTG). Claims agent: Epiq Corporate Restructuring, (888) 410-9433, SunPowerinfo@epiqglobal.com.